Folie a Deux Crush Fantasy


First Day… Barrel Day by Crush Crusader
September 1, 2008, 1:45 pm
Filed under: Harvest Adventures | Tags: , , ,

Waking up at 3:30am on my first day as a harvest intern was not as bad as I thought it was going to be. Staying awake for the drive was a little harder though. Loaded up on Rockstar and coffee, I arrived at the winery and met my fellow cellar rats and immediately began working at 5am in the cool barrel room. Everyone that I met was very friendly as they showed me around and gave me pointers and advice.

My first and only tasks during the day were to label new oak barrels that will soon be filled with wine….only 230. Not bad right? Oh it gets better. After the labeling, it was time to move the 230 barrels (80-100lbs each) onto racks…one at a time. Needless to say, my back, legs, forearms, and fingers hurt, however, I’d rather have that pain and in the cool temp. barrel room than have to be working outside in the 100+ degree heat for the entire day.

Got to go home early today though! Punched out at 2pm, 9 hours in the book, time for rest.

3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looking forward to reading more about your experiences!

Comment by Karin King

Wow Will–glad you are so buff and used to hefting meat in your former jobs. I must say wine barrels sound like a lot more fun! Can’t wait to taste some great red. We will be following your progress. Pastor and Teresa

Comment by Teresa Erickson

Wow! That’s a lot of barrels! Hope you weren’t the only one moving them!

Comment by Rhonda Howard




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

